Safety
Automated Traffic Enforcement Safety Device (​​ATESD)​


School Zones on our roadways give drivers and schoolchildren more time to recognize, react and avoid crashes. The installation of Automated Traffic Enforcement Safety Devices (ATESD) will increase safety throughout Georgia’s School Zones.

 

Apply for ATESD Permit

School systems wanting to place an Automated Traffic Enforcement Safety Device within a school zone must first apply for and secure a permit from the Georgia DOT.  Interested parties can apply for a permit by completing the permit form.

Application   ATESD Rules   Checklist   Off-System Self-Certification Letter

 

How to Submit Permit Applications

Please contact the appropriate Georgia DOT representative in your region to submit an application or to receive additional information about the ATESD permit.

Northeast Georgia: District 1 (Gainesville)
Jason Dykes, PE
Assistant District Traffic Engineer
jdykes@dot.ga.gov
770-533-7342 

East Central Georgia: District 2 (Tennille)
Kedric Collins
District Traffic Engineer
kecollins@dot.ga.gov
478-553-3368 

West Central Georgia: District 3 (Thomaston)
Daniel Trevorrow, PE
District Traffic Engineer
dtrevorrow@dot.ga.gov
706-646-7591 

Southwest Georgia District 4 (Tifton)
Randy Rathburn, PE
District Traffic Engineer
rrathburn@dot.ga.gov
229-386-3435 

Southeast Georgia: District 5 (Jesup)
Joseph Capello, PE
District Traffic Engineer
jcapello@dot.ga.gov
912-530-4402

Northwest Georgia: District 6 (Cartersville)
Chris Raymond, PE
District Traffic Engineer
craymond@dot.ga.gov
678-721-5240 

Metro Atlanta: District 7 (Chamblee)
Megan Wilson, PE
District Traffic Engineer
mwilson@dot.ga.gov​​​​​​​​
770-216-3881​

​ 

​ 

​ ​​​​