



Visit us on Facebook or Twitter.





For Immediate Release:

Thursday, August 18, 2016

Contact:

Annalysce Baker 470.891.29

NEW LEADERS AT STATE TRANSPORTATION BOARD

Brown, Boswell, Purcell elected to one-year terms



From left to right: Chairman, Robert L. Brown, Jr., Secretary, Ann R. Purcell and Vice Chair, Jamie Boswell.

ATLANTA – Today, by unanimous decision, the State Transportation Board elected its new executive leadership team. Robert L. Brown, Jr. was named chairman; Jamie Boswell was named vice chairman; and Ann R. Purcell was named secretary. The new positions are effective immediately. Board elections are held annually to ensure that all regions of the state are represented at the executive leadership level.

New Chairman Robert L. Brown, Jr. of Decatur has served on the board for 11 years and represents Georgia's 4th Congressional District. He is a business, community and civic leader; a registered architect; president and CEO of an architectural and construction management firm; and a graduate of Tuskegee University.

Most recently he was board vice chairman and served on five committees. He also previously served as board secretary. As chairman, Brown will serve as ex officio member of all committees.

Brown replaces Emily Dunn of Blue Ridge, the State Transportation Board's first female chair. Dunn represents the 9th Congressional District. During her tenure, Georgia DOT significantly increased its focus on routine maintenance due to funding resulting from the Transportation Funding Act of 2015. She was also the catalyst for Georgia DOT's



PRESSRELEASE





Visit us on Facebook or Twitter.

GED Scholarship Program to provide free classes and educational resources for employees preparing for the GED exam. There are currently 26 employees participating in the program.

"This is a great board and Emily was a terrific chairperson," Brown said. "I am excited about my new role and look forward to continuing to work with my fellow board members, Commissioner (Russell) McMurry, Georgia DOT leadership and the rest of the GDOT team. We have seen much activity with the funding from the TFA and there are many good things to accomplish in the future of transportation for the people of Georgia."

Vice Chairman Jamie Boswell of Athens represents the 10th Congressional District. He was elected to the board in 2013 and most recently was board secretary. Boswell serves on five committees and previously chaired the Property Utilization Committee. He is a business and civic leader; president and owner of a group of insurance, real estate and appraisal companies; and a graduate of the University of Georgia.

Board Secretary Ann R. Purcell of Rincon is a community and civic leader who represents the 1st Congressional District. She was elected to the board in 2013. Purcell is chair of the Finance Committee and serves on four other committees. Purcell served 18 years in the Georgia House of Representatives. She is a graduate of Georgia Southern College.

The 14-member State Transportation Board determines policy and generally governs the Georgia Department of Transportation. Each member is elected by a caucus of Georgia General Assembly members from their specific congressional district. Board members serve staggered, five-year terms. For more information, visit http://www.dot.ga.gov/AboutGDOT/Board.

###