Georgia law requires drivers to stop and stay stopped for pedestrians in crosswalks on the driver’s side of the road or within one lane of the driver’s side of the road. Never pass a car stopped at a crosswalk.


Pedestrian Safety
Pedestrians Educating Drivers on Safety (PEDS)
Governor's Office of Highway Safety
Georgia Law: Sections 40-6-90 - 40-6-101
Georgia Law: 40-6-21
Georgia Law: 40-6-22
Georgia Law: 40-6-72

Georgia law requires drivers to pass people biking in the street by at least 3 feet. Drivers should slow down and wait until it’s safe to pass with at least 3 feet. Also, It is less safe and illegal for bicyclists to ride on sidewalks.


Bicyclist Safety
Georgia Bikes
Governor's Office of Highway Safety
Georgia Law: Sections 40-6-90 - 40-6-101
Georgia Law: Sections 40-6-290 - 40-6-299
Untitled 1