GDOT Header Image

State Transportation Board

Georgia DOT is governed by a 14-member State Transportation Board which exercises general control and supervision of the Department. The Board is entrusted with powers which include, but are not limited to: naming the Commissioner; designating which public roads are encompassed within the state highway system; approving long-range transportation plans; overseeing the administration of construction contracts; and authorizing lease agreements. Board Members are elected by a majority of a General Assembly caucus from each of Georgia’s fourteen congressional districts. Each board member serves a five-year term. 

2014 State Transportation Board Officer Elections
From right to left: Newly elected Chair Don Grantham, Vice Chair Emily Dunn and Secretary Robert Brown.

State Transportation Board Elects New Officers

Don Grantham of Augusta was elected Chair of the State Transportation Board today, having served the past year in the role of Vice Chair. Emily Dunn of Blue Ridge was elected Vice Chair, and Robert L. Brown, Jr. of Decatur was elected to the position of Secretary.



Presentations & Minutes


Meeting Dates

Meeting Dates



State Transportation Board Members

Print Full Board Member List

DistrictBoard MemberTitleTerm Expire
1st Congressional DistrictAnn R. Purcell 4/15/17
2nd Congressional DistrictJohnny Floyd  4/15/18
3rd Congressional DistrictSam M. Wellborn 4/15/17
4th Congressional DistrictRobert L. Brown, Jr. 4/15/16
5th Congressional DistrictStacey Key 4/15/18
6th Congressional DistrictDan Moody 4/15/19
7th Congressional DistrictRudy Bowen  4/15/15
8th Congressional DistrictJay ShawChairman4/15/15
9th Congressional DistrictEmily Dunn Secretary4/15/18
10th Congressional DistrictJamie Boswell 4/15/18
11th Congressional DistrictJeff Lewis 4/15/16
12th Congressional DistrictDon Grantham Vice Chairman4/15/19
13th Congressional DistrictDana Lemon 4/15/18
14th Congressional DistrictRoger Williams 4/15/18