Home -> Business & Government -> Permits -> Access Management

Access Management

Driveway & Special Encroachment Permits

Access Management involves providing (or managing) access to land development while simultaneously preserving the flow of traffic on the surrounding road system in terms of safety, capacity, and speed. Access Management applies to all types of roads and streets. It calls for setting access policies for various types of roadway, keying designs to these policies, having the access policies incorporated into legislation, and having the legislation upheld in the courts.

Access Management views the highway and its surrounding activities as part of a single system. Access Management extends traffic engineering principles to the location, design, and operation of access roads that serve activities along streets and highways. Access Management addresses the basic questions of when, where, and how access should be provided or denied, and what legal or institutional changes are needed to enforce these decisions. In a broad context, access management is resource management, since it is a way to anticipate and prevent congestion and to improve traffic flow.

 Contacts

Access Management State Office (Atlanta)


Sharmelda Jacobs Barrow
State Access Management Supervisor
sbarrow@dot.ga.gov | (404) 635-2899

Joshua D. Washington
State Access Management Engineer
jowashington@dot.gov | (404) 635-2827


Access Management District Offices


 District ACCESS Management Supervisor  Phone 
Northeast Georgia: District 1 (Gainesville) Sue Anne Harris-Decker, PE
District Traffic Engineer
sdecker@dot.ga.gov | (770) 533-8490
East Central Georgia: District 2 (Tennille) Kedric Collins
District Traffic Engineer
kecollins@dot.ga.gov | (478) 553-3368
West Central Georgia: District 3 (Thomaston) Tyler Peek, PE
District Traffic Engineer
tpeek@dot.ga.gov | (706) 741-3433
Southwest Georgia District 4 (Tifton) Randy Rathburn, PE
District Traffic Engineer
rrathburn@dot.ga.gov | (229) 386-3435
Southeast Georgia: District 5 (Jesup) Cynthia Phillips
District Traffic Engineer
cyphillips@dot.ga.gov | (912) 530-4410
Northwest Georgia: District 6 (Cartersville) Christina Barry, PE
District Traffic Engineer
cbarry@dot.ga.gov | (678) 721-5240
Metro Atlanta: District 7 (Chamblee) Justin Hatch, PE
District Traffic Engineer
juhatch@dot.ga.gov | (770) 216-3989