Home -> Business & Government -> Permits -> Automated Traffic Enforcement Safety Device (ATESD)

Automated Traffic Enforcement Safety Device ( ATESD)


School Zones on our roadways give drivers and schoolchildren more time to recognize, react and avoid crashes. The installation of Automated Traffic Enforcement Safety Devices (ATESD) will increase safety throughout Georgia’s School Zones.


Apply for ATESD Permit

School systems wanting to place an Automated Traffic Enforcement Safety Device within a school zone must first apply for and secure a permit from the Georgia DOT.

Interested parties can apply for a permit by completing the permit form.

Application & Info
ATESD Permit Application
GDOT Rules for the Permitting Automated Traffic Enforcement

How to Submit Permit Applications

Please contact the appropriate Georgia DOT representative in your region to submit an application or to receive additional information about the ATESD permit.

Northeast Georgia: District 1 (Gainesville)
Jason Dykes
Assistant District Traffic Engineer
jdykes@dot.ga.gov 

East Central Georgia: District 2 (Tennille)
Kedric Collins
District Traffic Engineer
kecollins@dot.ga.gov 

West Central Georgia: District 3 (Thomaston)
Tyler Peek, PE
District Traffic Engineer
tpeek@dot.ga.gov 

Southwest Georgia District 4 (Tifton)
Randy Rathburn, PE
District Traffic Engineer
rrathburn@dot.ga.gov 

Southeast Georgia: District 5 (Jesup)
Cynthia Phillips
District Traffic Engineer
cyphillips@dot.ga.gov |

Northwest Georgia: District 6 (Cartersville)
Christina Barry, PE
District Traffic Engineer
cbarry@dot.ga.gov 

Metro Atlanta: District 7 (Chamblee)
Justin Hatch, PE
District Traffic Engineer
juhatch@dot.ga.gov