Home -> Business & Government -> Permits -> Automated License Plate Readers (ALPR)

Automated License Plate Readers (ALPR)


Automated license plate readers (ALPRs) are high-speed, computer-controlled camera systems that are typically mounted on street poles, streetlights, highway overpasses, mobile trailers, or attached to police squad cars.


Apply for ALPR Permit

State, local, and university Police agencies, requesting to place an Automated License Plate Readers Device along the state’s right of way, must first apply for and secure a permit from the Georgia DOT.

Interested parties can apply for a permit by completing the permit form.

Application & Info
ALPR Permit Application
GDOT Rules for the Permitting Automated License Plate Readers (ALPR)

How to Submit Permit Applications

Please contact the appropriate Georgia DOT representative in your region to submit an application or to receive additional information about the ALPR permit.

Northeast Georgia: District 1 (Gainesville)
Jason Dykes
Assistant District Traffic Engineer
jdykes@dot.ga.gov 

East Central Georgia: District 2 (Tennille)
Kedric Collins
District Traffic Engineer
kecollins@dot.ga.gov 

West Central Georgia: District 3 (Thomaston)
Tyler Peek, PE
District Traffic Engineer
tpeek@dot.ga.gov 

Southwest Georgia District 4 (Tifton)
Randy Rathburn, PE
District Traffic Engineer
rrathburn@dot.ga.gov 

Southeast Georgia: District 5 (Jesup)
Cynthia Phillips
District Traffic Engineer
cyphillips@dot.ga.gov |

Northwest Georgia: District 6 (Cartersville)
Christina Barry, PE
District Traffic Engineer
cbarry@dot.ga.gov 

Metro Atlanta: District 7 (Chamblee)
Justin Hatch, PE
District Traffic Engineer
juhatch@dot.ga.gov