Transit
Home    About GDOT     Board    Employment    Contact Us    Site Map

Home -> Invest Smart -> Transit

Transit

Metro Atlanta Transit Options

The mission of the Georgia DOT Transit Office is to "Identify and support cost effective, efficient and safe transportation systems.” This is accomplished through the distribution and oversight management of Federal Transit Administration (FTA) grants authorized under the Moving Ahead for Progress in the 21st Century ACT (MAP-21). FTA’s most recent authorizing legislation is the Moving Ahead for Progress in the 21st Century (MAP21), Public Law 112-141, signed into law on July 6, 2012, and effective October 1, 2012.

Notification of Rights Under Title VI

  • Georgia DOT Transit is committed to ensuring that no person is excluded from participation in or denied the benefits of its services on the basis of race, color or national origin, as provided by Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, as amended.
  • Any person who believes that he or she has been subjected to discrimination under Title VI on the basis of race, color or national origin may file a Title VI complaint. Any such complaint must be in writing and submitted to Georgia DOT within one hundred eighty (180) days following the date of the alleged discrimination.
  • For more information on Georgia DOT Title VI obligations, or to file a complaint, contact Nadara Wade, Transit Program Title VI Coordinator, 600 West Peachtree Street, NW. Atlanta, GA 30308. Please click on the link below to access our complaint form.

You may also file your complaint directly with the Federal Transit Administration at:

Federal Transit Administration Office of Civil Rights
Attention: Title VI Program Coordinator
East Building, 5th Floor - TCR
1200 New Jersey Ave., SE
Washington, DC 20590

If information is needed in another language, then contact (404) 631-1231.

Notice

Drug and Alcohol Training Seminar

Georgia DOT will host a Drug and Alcohol Training Seminar.  All participants must register individually.

May 3-5, 2016
9AM - 5PM
Georgia DOT District 3 Macon Area Office
4499 Riverside Dr
Macon, GA 31210

Register Now


Urban Transit Systems


Urban Transit Systems (Statewide):
16

Number of Passenger Trips:
148 Million

Revenue Vehicle Miles:
65.4 Million

Total Revenue Vehicles:
1,182 buses/318 rail cars


View Urban Systems

Rural Transit Systems


 Rural Transit Systems (Statewide):
111

Number of Passenger Trips:
1.8 Million

Revenue Vehicle Miles:
12.6 Million

Total Revenue Vehicles:
481 Million


View Rural Systems


 

Notice Announcements

 

Find available public transit locations and information in or around metro Atlanta at www.atltransit.org/

Funded Projects (JARC & New Freedom)

Administrative Guides

Fact Sheets

FTA Circulars

District Name/Title Address Phone Programs
jQuery Responsive Tabs

 

For more information about Georgia's transit program and services please contact the following:

Transit Office Staff

Name Title Phone Email
Crystal Odum Ford Transit Program Manager (404) 631-1237 codumford@dot.ga.gov
Roy Tucker Urban Transit Group Leader (404) 631-1238 rtucker@dot.ga.gov
Antoine Hawkins Transit Planner (404) 631-1790 ahawkins@dot.ga.gov
Nadara Wade Public Transportation Coordinator (404) 631-1231 nwade@dot.ga.gov
Nicole Spivey Transit Planner (404) 631-1233 nspivey@dot.ga.gov
 

District Public Transportation Coordinator

Name Title Phone Email
Cecilia Ashley District 2 – Public Transportation Coordinator (478) 552-4634 cashley@dot.ga.gov
Donna Stinson District 4 - Public Transportation Coordinator (229) 386-3302 dstinson@dot.ga.gov
Troy Green District 5 - Public Transportation Coordinator (912) 427-5756 tgreen@dot.ga.gov
Freida Black District 6 - Public Transportation Coordinator (770) 387-5496 fblack@dot.ga.gov

Urban Systems

* Vanpool services provided
** Express Bus Service Only

Urban Transit Facts

  • Urban Transit Systems (Statewide): 14
  • Revenue Vehicle Miles: 65.4 million
  • Number of Passenger Trips: 177.5 million
  • Total Revenue Vehicles: 1,182 buses/318 rail cars

 

 

Rural Systems

 

  • Americus
  • Social Circle
  • Cedartown
  • Unadilla
  • Dawson 
  • Vienna

 

Rural Transit Facts

  • Number of Rural Transit Programs: 114
  • Revenue Vehicle Miles: 12.6 million
  • Number of Passenger Trips: 1.7 million
  • Total Revenue Vehicles: 481 Paratransit
  • ADA Compliant Vehicles: 336