Georgia Departtnent of Transportation

-85 EXPRESS LANE SIGNS - WHAT ARE THEY SAYING?
SIGN CHANGE BEGINS FRIDAY, SEPTEMBER 16

The process to change Express Lane signage to its permanent text is scheduled to begin Friday, September 16.
The 10-day sign change process is planned for overnights only from 8 p.m. to 5 a.m. with up to triple lane
closures on the interstate. Six crews will make the necessary changes to 105 signs on 60 support structures in
the 16-mile corridor in DeKalb and Gwinnett counties. The changes also require removal of 94 HOV signs.

Pavement markings will also be changed from HOV Only to Express Lane Only as signs are changed. Crews
will work in both directions of 1-85 at the same time. Changes will begin on 1-85 southbound at Suwanee and
continue south. Changes will begin on the northbound lanes of the interstate north of Clairmont Road and
continue north.

LEFT Based on new federal guidelines (2009 MUTCD) all new Express
- Lane signs must have a purple background for the Peach Pass

e\ " header and a green background for the sign body. Consistent
' Pass ONLY express lane signage colors across the U.S. ensure that motorists
will quickly recognize express lanes and toll lanes wherever they

EXPRESS travel.

LANE This sign is located one mile before the beginning of the express
lane, both NB and SB. It gives potential express lane users
ENTRAN C E adequate notice to safely move to the left to enter the designated
lane.

e Users must have a registered Peach Pass transponder
before entering the lane.

e These registered vehicles can use the lane for free:
carpools with three or more occupants; transit vehicles
(e.g. GRTA Xpress coaches, MARTA buses, van pools);
motorcycles; on-call emergency vehicles; and alternative
fuel vehicles (AFV) with the proper AFV license plate
(does not include hybrid vehicles).

e Other registered vehicles can use the lane by paying a
variable toll.



EXPRESS LANE

e bt
10 |31 Swance Rd

The sign above gives potential Express Lane users the toll rate or range for that entry point and are
strategically placed prior to each entry point.

e The sign states that this is an Express Lane to be used only by Peach Pass customers.
e The top rate is the charge from that entry point to the next exit.

e The bottom rate is the charge from that entry point to the last exit on the Express Lane
stretch.

e |f a motorist exits in between, their toll rate will be between the two stated rates.
e Once a motorist enters at an entry point, their rate or range will not change.

LEFT
This sign is at the beginning of the Express Lane and at
all entrance (access) points to the Express Lane system.

It specifies that only registered Peach Pass customers
may use this lane, which is the far left lane. EX P R E S S

K. LANE
ENTRANCE

I LLEGAL This sign reminds motorists according to

Georgia Code 840-6-48, it is illegal to cross

TO c Ross the double solid white lines to enter or exit

the Express Lane. Doing so is a violation and

ffend ill be fined $25.00 plus th
DOUBLE SOLID | o 6™ ™™™
WHITE LINES

GA CODE40-6-48




This sign is visible throughout the
Express Lanes corridor and advises that
only registered Peach Pass customers are
allowed to use the Express Lane.

ONLY

¥V

This sign gives the Express Lane user ample notice to exit
the lane at the upcoming broken white lines for the LOCAL EXITS
specified interstate exits.

 Entrance and exit points from the Express Lanes do Steve Reynold S/
not always coincide with interstate entrance and exit Pleasant Hill Rd
ramps.

Boggs Road
®) Duluth Hwy

accordingly. ’

e Express Lane users must pay attention to their
upcoming interstate exit and leave the Express Lane

This sign located throughout the Express Lanes
corridor, indicates fines of up to $150 for each
express lane violation including:

EXPRESS
LANE

e Use of Express Lane by non-registered
vehicles

e Crossing double solid white line to enter
VI 0 LAT 0 RS or exit Express Lane
e Vehicle registered in the wrong toll mode.

Fl N E D U P To For example, driver not changing a three-

person toll mode to a two-person toll

$ ] 5 0 mode when appropriate.

GA CODE 1981 & 40-6-54




