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Proposed Revisions
For Board Consideration

Charging Fees for Permit Review
• Designed to offset the cost to the• Designed to offset the cost to the 

taxpayers for this service 

• Calculated to recover only Department 
costs for Permit Reviews and Inspection



Proposed Revisions
Charging Fees for Permit Review
• Allowed under State Law 32 6 133• Allowed under State Law 32‐6‐133
“§ 32‐6‐133. Promulgation of regulations; charges for permits 

for commercial drivewaysfor commercial driveways 
(a) The department is granted the authority to promulgate 

uniform and reasonable regulations to carry out the 
i i f hi ki h l i hprovisions of this part. In making such regulations the 

department shall specify among other things the 
circumstances under which commercial driveway permits y p
may be issued or revoked, provided that such regulations 
shall not deprive the landowner of reasonable access to the 
public road on the state highway system ”public road on the state highway system.



Permit Review Fees
TYPE FEES
RESIDENTAL DRIVE (Up To 4 Units) $200 00RESIDENTAL DRIVE (Up To 4 Units) $200.00 

CONCEPT/PRELIMARY REVIEW no charge

PLAN REVIEW:PLAN REVIEW:

Small  $1,000.00 
Medium $2,000.00 
Large  $4,000.00 

SUPPLEMENTAL REVIEW FEES:

Traffic Signal‐(Revision) $500.00 
Traffic  Signal‐(New, w/Warrant Analysis) $2,000.00 

Inspection Fee 2% of Bond AmountInspection Fee 2% of Bond Amount



Typical Examples
Small review:
• Buildings less than 10,000 sq ft, 
• Business generates less than 100 Average Vehicle trips per day,
• Special Encroachment w/ minor impacts (e g sidewalk only)• Special Encroachment w/ minor impacts (e.g. sidewalk only)
Medium review: 
• Buildings ranging from 10,001  ‐ 200,000 sq ft, 

i hi l i d• Businesses generates 101 ‐ 2000 Average Vehicle trips per day, 
• Special Encroachment w/ medium impacts
Large review:g
• Buildings more than 200,001 sq ft, 
• Business generates more than 2001 Average Vehicle trips per day, 
• Special Encroachment w/ Large impacts (e g grading/trees)• Special Encroachment w/ Large impacts (e.g. grading/trees)



Permit Fee 
Example

C i l D i M di SiCommercial Driveway – Medium Size
•Estimated $100,000 (Performance Bond)$ , ( )

Plan Review = $2 000Plan Review = $2,000
Inspection Fee =  $2,000   (2% x $100,000)

Total Fee $4 000Total Fee  $4,000



STATE COMPARISONS      
STATE BASED ON FEE AMOUNTS
California Scope of work  All Costs
Delaware Size & Type of Dev. $100‐$5000 w/Traffic Study
Florida Size & Type Dev./ADT $50 ‐ $5000 yp / $ $
Indiana Size & Type of Dev. $55  ‐ $600
Louisiana Scope of Work $2/SY  asphalt +$2/ft. c&g
Maryland Type of Work $50 ‐ $1500 w/SignalMaryland Type of Work $50   $1500  w/Signal
Massachusetts Size &Type of Dev. $500  ‐ $3000 
Michigan Size & Type of Dev. $500  ‐ $3000 
Nevada Size & Type of Dev $500 $1000Nevada Size & Type of Dev. $500  ‐ $1000
New Jersey Size & Type of Dev. $350  ‐ $5000 
New York  Size & Type of Dev. $100  ‐ $2000 
h d l d & f $ $Rhode Island       Size & Type of Dev. $500  ‐ $3000

Utah ADT/LF/Impact+insp.      $475  ‐ $2300 
Virginia                 $100+Type+$10/ LF  $150 ‐ $500 (+$1000 signal)
Washington Type & Site Volume $1000 ‐$5000



Outreach to Customers

The Department will provide public 
outreach to educate local governments, 
engineering support, ACCG, and othersengineering support, ACCG, and others 
prior to full implementation of fee.



QUESTIONS ?QUESTIONS ?

Scott Zehngraff
T ffi O tiTraffic Operations
404‐635‐8127



HOW PERMIT FEES WERE CALCULATED
District # of Inspectors Inspectors Salary # of Engineers Engineers Salary

$ $1 6 $175,725 6 $211,038
2 7 $172,000 7+ $214,553
3 8 $186,300 6 $186,740
4 7 $209,300 6 $183,5254 7 $209,300 6 $183,525
5 4 $104,650 6 $185,498
6 6 $234,100 6 $158,335
7 11 $328,900 8 $274,028
G O ( t ti St t T ffi E iG.O. (not counting State Traffic Engineer, 
Director of Operations, or Chief Engineer)  4+ $185,016
‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐‐
Total (salaries alone) 49 $1,410,975 49+ $1,598,733( ) , , , ,
Total W/ Fringe (40.564%) $1,983,323 $2,247,243
Total W/ Fringe & Overhead (25%) $2,479,153 $2,809,054

Total Cost to Department for Access Management: $5,288,207

Total amount needed per permit to recover Department Costs:
$2,100 (inspection) + $2,300 (Engineering) x 1200 permits =$5,280,000
($100,000 Bond x 2% = $2,000) (MEDIUM sized review = $2,000) (avg. 2006 & 2007= 1200 permits) 



Residential Driveway Fee Calculation

2 i it @ 4 h h 8 h2 visits @ 4 hrs each = 8 hours

8 hours @ $15 per hour (salary only)

8 hours @ $25 per hours (salary+fringe+overhead)=$2008 hours @ $25 per hours   (salary+fringe+overhead)=$200



TITLE 32. HIGHWAYS, BRIDGES, AND FERRIES 
CHAPTER 6. REGULATION OF MAINTENANCE AND USE OF PUBLIC ROADS GENERALLY 

ARTICLE 5. COMMERCIAL PROPERTY AND SUBDIVISIONS 
PART 1. COMMERCIAL PROPERTY 

O C G A § 32 6 133 (2009)O.C.G.A. § 32‐6‐133 (2009)

§ 32‐6‐133. Promulgation of regulations; charges for permits for commercial driveways 

(a) The department is granted the authority to promulgate uniform and reasonable regulations to carry out the provisions of this(a) The department is granted the authority to promulgate uniform and reasonable regulations to carry out the provisions of this 
part. In making such regulations the department shall specify among other things the circumstances under which commercial 
driveway permits may be issued or revoked, provided that such regulations shall not deprive the landowner of reasonable 
access to the public road on the state highway system.

(b) (1) Where a person seeks a permit to construct reconstruct alter or improve a commercial driveway and the commercial(b) (1) Where a person seeks a permit to construct, reconstruct, alter, or improve a commercial driveway and the commercial 
driveway will lie in whole or in part upon a parcel of land acquired for the state highway system from such person or the 
immediately preceding owner of such property from whom such person acquired title to such property, the total amount of 
money charged to such person as a condition of obtaining the permit shall not exceed the compensation received by such 
person or the immediately preceding owner of such property from whom such person acquired title to such property for such 
parcel of land upon its acquisition for the state highway system This limitation shall apply to the total of all amounts ofparcel of land upon its acquisition for the state highway system. This limitation shall apply to the total of all amounts of 
money of whatever character charged to such person as a condition of obtaining the permit, including without limitation any 
and all amounts charged for title to or use of land and any and all fees or other costs of any nature whatsoever. This 
subsection shall constitute only a maximum limitation upon the total amount of money charged under such circumstances 
and shall not in any manner be construed to establish a minimum amount of money to be charged under such circumstances.

(2) Except in the case of heirs and assigns, the limitation of the department to require a payment of more than the maximum 
amount received for such property as provided in paragraph (1) of this subsection shall last for only a ten‐year period from 
the date of the initial acquisition of property by the department.

(3) This subsection shall apply with respect to land acquired for the state highway system prior to April 15 1996 as well as land(3) This subsection shall apply with respect to land acquired for the state highway system prior to April 15, 1996, as well as land 
so acquired on or after April 15, 1996.



Local Permitting Fees
City of Atlanta: $5 per $1000 of total construction costs($50 min)City of Atlanta: $5 per $1000 of total construction costs($50 min)

Fulton County: $350 + $5/acre of disturbed land 

DeKalb County: $100 per disturbed acre($150 min)DeKalb County: $100 per disturbed acre($150 min) 

Clayton County:   $50 application fee; +$100/SF for 0‐10,000 SF; 
$0.15/ SF for 10,001+ SF $0. 5/ SF for 0,00 SF

Rockdale County: $500 + $50/disturbed acre; 3rd review fee‐ 50% of 
original, 4th review‐ 100% of  original; 5th and subsequent‐ 200% of original 

Douglas County:
Construction Costs  Fees 
$0‐$3,000  $54.75 
$3,001‐$50,000  $27.38 for the first $3,000 + $6.57/$1000 
$50,000‐$100,000  $336.71 for the first $50,000 + $5.48/$1000 
$100,001‐$500,000  $609.92 for the first $100,000 + $4.38/$1000 
$ $ $ $ $$500,001 and up  $2,361.92 for the first $500,000 + $3.29/$1000 



Local Permitting Fees
Columbia County:  based on size of site

0 7 ½ acres $500 000‐7 ½  acres= $500.00
7 ½ ‐10 acres = $750.00
10 + acres = $1000.00 for each acre over 10 acres

Bibb County:
Land disturbing permits = $50.00 for the 1st acre & $10.00 for each additional acre or 
portion of an acre( fee based on project area)
NPDES General Permit= $40.00
Utility Permit $ 150 00 for pavement cutUtility Permit = $ 150.00 for pavement cut
City of Valdosta:
1000.00 up to $50,000.00 depending on size of work
Ch th C t li i f $50 00Chatham County‐ application fee= $50.00
Commercial developments > 0.25 acres = $6,000.00 plus $1,000.00 per each additional 
acre. $1,750.00 if less than 0.25 acre
Residential driveways = $ 450 00Residential driveways   $ 450.00
City of Savannah: Residential = $75.00

Commercial = 125.00
Special Encroachment = application fee $45 00Special Encroachment   application fee $45.00
R/W disturbance = $40.00



Example Bond Chart
Posted Speed  Number of  Roadway  Calculated  Minimum Bond amount p

Limit Turn Lanes*
y

Type** Cost ***
<=35 one rural $34,263 $40,000
<=35 one urban $53,238 $60,000
<=35 two rural $64,890 $70,000
<=35 two urban $83,865 $90,000
40‐45 one rural $44,143 $50,000
40‐45 one urban $63,118 $70,000
40‐45 two rural $98,975 $100,000
40‐45 two urban $117,950 $120,000
50‐55 one rural $51,553 $60,000
50‐55 one urban $70,528 $80,000
50‐55 two rural $119,722 $120,000
50‐55 two urban $138,697 $140,000
>=60 one rural $61,432 $70,000
>=60 one urban $80,407 $90,000
>=60 two rural $145,410 $150,000
>=60 two urban $164,385 $170,000

                      Add $120,000 to Bond if new signal, add $60,000 for existing signal modification

* For multiple driveways, add the bond amounts for each drive
** Urban = with curb and gutter; Rural = Paved or graded shoulders
***Bond amount may be increased at the District Engineer's discretion


