Home -> About GDOT -> State Transportation Board -> Congressional District 1

Congressional District 1

Ann Purcell

Ann R. Purcell

410 Willowpeg Way
Rincon, GA 31326
(912) 663-8128

Year Elected to the Board: ​​2013
Current Term Expires: 4/15/22

Download Photo

What drives Ann Purcell?

Interview Date: Fall 2014

Ann Purcell has seen many roles, titles and honors. The wife, mother and grandmother is a businesswoman, genealogist, horse enthusiast, and assistant dog trainer (specializing in black labs). She was a teacher, served in the Georgia House of Representatives and is in her second year on the State Transportation Board.

Purcell represents Congressional District 1 in southeast Georgia, including the ports of Savannah and Brunswick and the entire coastline. She currently serves on the board of the World Trade Center in Savannah and formerly served on the State Board of Technical and Adult Education. She recently received a prestigious award from the President of the Federal Republic of Germany for her efforts to build cultural and economic bridges between Germany and the state of Georgia.

Read More

Year Elected to Board ​Current Term Expires

 Biographical Data

Personal / Family

Place of Birth: Glennville, GA
Marital Status: Married to Dent  W. Purcell, M.D. 
Children: Three children; eight grandchildren
Church: Member of The Church at Godly Station



Bachelor of Science Degree in Education, Major in Mathematics; Georgia Southern College 

Professional Record

  • State Transportation Board Chairman 2018 - 2019
  • State Transportation Vice Chair; 2017
  • Published Genealogist
  • Chatham Radiation Oncology Associates, P.C. Office Manager
  • Former Teacher and real estate salesperson
  • Georgia House of Representatives from 1991-2005; 2009-2013
    • Public Safety and Homeland Security Chairman
    • Governmental Affairs Vice-Chairman
    • Member of:
      • Appropriations
      • Public Safety of Appropriations
      • Economic Development and Tourism
      • Health and Human Resources
      • Education

Community/Civic Activities

  • Georgia Historical Society
  • Georgia Arts Policy Commission Member
  • Coastal Transportation Roundtable Member
  • State Board of the Technical College System of Georgia (Chairman of the Governance, Operations and Audit Committee)
  • Georgia Education Liaison Committee Chairman
  • Hope Scholarship Study Commission
  • Jekyll Island Authority Oversight Committee
  • Effingham County Adult Literacy Advisory Committee
  • Effingham County American Cancer Society Board of Directors
  • Georgia Salzburger Society
  • Salzburger Verein E.V., Berlin, Germany (Life Member)
  • Medical Association of Georgia Alliance (Life Member)
  • Effingham Historical Society (Life Member)
  • Rotary International
  • Effingham Chamber of Commerce
  • YMCA
  • Georgia Sheriffs Association (Honorary Member)
  • Georgia Department of Public Safety (Honorary State Trooper)
  • World Trade Center Savannah Board Member

Honors and Awards

  • 2019 "100 Influential Women to Know", Engineering Georgia Magazine
  • 2018 "100 Influential Women to Know", Engineering Georgia Magazine
  • Recipient of the Cross of the Order of Merit from the President of the Federal Republic of Germany
  • 2016 TLC Tourism Council (Savannah/Chatham) – Board of Directors Award
  • Service Award, Georgia Southern University Board of Trustees
  • Paul Harris Fellow Recipient
  • Charles Dick Award, National Guard Association of the United States
  • Minuteman Award, Officers and Enlisted Associations of the Georgia National Guard
  • Who's Who of American Women
  • Who's Who in Medicine and Healthcare
  • Who's Who in America
  • 10 Top Women of Effingham County, Effingham Herald and County Citizens
  • 2012 Woman of Distinction Award from the Girl Scouts of Historic Georgia
  • Recognition, Memorial Health University Medical Center
  • Recognition, Georgia Army National Guard
  • Post 322 Recognition, American Legion of Georgia,
  • League of Women Voters Recognition
  • 2012 Recognition for Conservative Voting Record, American Conservative Union Foundation
  • 2012 Humanitarian of the Year, City of Rincon
  • 2012 Citizen of the Year, Effingham Sheriff's Department for dedicated and continuous service to the community and the State.

Counties Within District
Congressional District 3Congressional District 9 Congressional District 12 Congressional District 8