State Transportation Board
Home    About GDOT     Board    Employment    Contact Us    Site Map

Home -> About GDOT -> State Transportation Board

State Transportation Board

Georgia DOT is governed by a 14-member State Transportation Board which exercises general control and supervision of the Department. The Board is entrusted with powers which include, but are not limited to: naming the Commissioner; designating which public roads are encompassed within the state highway system; approving long-range transportation plans; overseeing the administration of construction contracts; and authorizing lease agreements. Board Members are elected by a majority of a General Assembly caucus from each of Georgia‚Äôs fourteen congressional districts. Each board member serves a five-year term. 

View Policies


Board Minutes & Presentations

Committee List

Congressional District Map


Congressional District Map

Georgia DOT Receives APWA Award

September 15, 2016

APWA Award

The Georgia chapter of the American Public Works Association (APWA) presented Georgia DOT with an award during the State Transportation Board meeting on Thursday, September 15, 2016.

From left to right: APWA Georgia Chapter Vice President Andrew Parker, APWA Georgia Chapter President Bobby Marr, Georgia DOT Commissioner Russell McMurry and APWA Georgia Chapter Awards Committee Chairman Stan Brown.

Photo Gallery

    Board Members

    Printable Board List

    District Board Member Title Term Expire


    Resolution Date